San Juan Ranch Roping in Monticello

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

The annual San Juan Ranch Roping & Ranch Horse Sale was held this past week at the fairgrounds in Monticello.  If you’re into rodeo events, this is a great, FREE event that’s always a lot of fun to go watch.

I didn’t realize until I was starting this blog entry that I actually already did an entry on the Ranch Roping event several years ago, but looking back I see that it was mostly just pictures and I didn’t explain the rules, so I’ll take this chance to try to explain (my version of) how ranch roping works.

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

At the beginning of each competition, they always gather all the riders to go over the rules.  The basics of ranch roping are that each team of 3 has a set amount of time to rope a cow.  When they pass a certain point in the arena, the announcer will call out the number of the cow that they have to rope.

First the head…

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

Then a back leg…

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

Once the head and a back leg have been roped by the first two team members, the third member has to get off their horse and get the cow to the ground…

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

After it’s down on the ground they have to move the rope that’s around the cow’s head to the two front legs, and then get the rope that’s around one of the back legs around both.  After all that is done, they have to get back on their horse as quickly as possible.

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping- Monticello, UT

San Juan Ranch Roping 2014- Monticello, UT

There are lots of other rules and of course, all of this has to be done within a certain amount of time too, but that’s the basic outline of how it works.  I hope I’m not making it sound overly simple, because I’m sure it’s not!

My first attempt at roping

My first attempt at roping

I was at a BBQ a few years ago and someone had brought one of those plastic steer heads for roping practice.  I love that kind hand-eye-coordination stuff, so of course I asked if he’d teach me how to do it.  It took me a few tries, but I roped it!  For about a year after that I was telling my husband that I wanted a steer head and a rope to practice with, but I never did get one.  Every time I go watch ranch roping it reminds me of how fun it was and I start looking at them online again!  (My Birthday is coming up, so let’s see if my husband actually reads my blog!)

Distance from Monticello to lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

For more information or to request travel brochures, please call Utah’s Canyon Country at: 800-574-4386

Or e-mail us at: info@utahscanyoncountry.com

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to San Juan Ranch Roping in Monticello

  1. Pingback: Utah Navajo Fair Parade 2014 | Utah's Canyon Country Blog

Leave a Reply

