Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club

My son 'playing golf' at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

My son ‘playing golf’ at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

No, I haven’t signed my son up for golf lessons… yet!  This picture was just way too cute not to share!  Actually I’m the one who took the lesson!  I think my family and friends were all shocked when I told them that I was going to do it.  Maybe because I’ve never shown any kind of interest in learning how to play, but I’ve actually been thinking about it for a while now.  The Hideout Golf Club has been included on several lists for the best golf courses, both in the state and in the country.  It was named #5 in Golfweek’s 2012 Best Golf Courses State by State and #17 in Golfweek Magazine’s 50 2012 Best Municipal Golf Courses in the US.  So I’ve been thinking that as long as I live here in Monticello, if I’m EVER going to learn how to play golf, this would be the perfect time.

I convinced my husband that we should take lessons together, and he was on board, but then got caught up in a fence project at our house and I didn’t want to wait for him to finish before taking the lesson, so I took the first one on my own.  Plus, my husband has played a little, so we thought maybe he could skip the first couple lessons until I was a little closer to his level.

Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello- UT

Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello- UT

I met with the Pro, Tyler, and we headed straight down to the driving range to get started.  Within minutes of starting the lesson I was pretty sure that my husband didn’t know half of what Tyler was telling me!  (No offense Silas- it was just really technical!)  First of all, just learning how to grip the club correctly was much more complicated than I would have thought!  I played volleyball in jr high and high school, and I’m really into hand-eye coordination games; pool, darts, ping pong, cornhole (bean bag toss), lawn darts, etc.- pretty much anything where you stand in one spot and throw or hit something, so it’s not like I’m one of those uncoordinated people who doesn’t know how to throw or catch a ball.  But right away with golf, it seemed like there was so much more going on.

Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello- UT

Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club- Monticello- UT

Finally it was time for me to hit the ball.  I’m not positive, but I’m pretty sure that I swung and totally missed the ball on my first try.  And my second.  Tyler finally had pity on me and let me hit off a tee.  Much better!  At least I made contact with the ball that way!  It took me a little while, but I did get a few swings where I made good contact with the ball and got some air.  It felt SO good to hit it well!  And of course it continued to be humiliating when I’d swing and miss the ball completely!  But either way, it was fun!  The lesson went by so fast, I really wasn’t ready for it to be over!  All I could think about was getting back out there and practicing!

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

I had taken my lesson on a Friday, and on Saturday evening I dragged my family back out there to practice!  My husband and I got clubs (well, actually it was just one club- I had only practiced with the #7, so that was the only one I used) at the pro shop, jumped in a golf cart, and headed back down to the driving range.

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello, UT

I’m not sure if it was the fact that my son was talking (and yelling!) most of the time, that he kept walking towards me and I was only half able to concentrate on my swing, or that Tyler wasn’t there telling me how to stand and what to do, but it seemed much, MUCH harder this time!  It also didn’t help that my husband seemed to have no problem hitting the ball.  Grrr… don’t you hate that?!  You think you’re learning something and your self-taught husband who isn’t even holding the club right, comes along and upstages you!  This is off the topic, but it reminds me of a BBQ we were at a few years ago… someone had brought one of those steer heads on a bale of hay for roping practice and I really wanted to learn how to do it, so I listened to the guy’s instructions, tried a few times, and roped it on my 6th or 7th try.  I was so excited I decided I should end on a good note, so I let my husband try.  He got it on his first try.  Of course.  But back to golfing….

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello-UT

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello-UT

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello-UT

Hideout Golf Club- Monticello-UT

As you can see in the pictures, it was such a beautiful day to be out on the driving range!  I doubt my golf swing improved at all, in fact, I think it might have gotten worse without Tyler there to correct me.  But we had fun and that’s what it’s all about, right?!  Writing this post has made want to get back out there and practice again!  I really never thought I’d get the golf bug, but I just might have!

Distance from the Hideout Golf Club to lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

For more information or to request travel brochures, please call Utah’s Canyon Country at: 800-574-4386

Or e-mail us at: info@utahscanyoncountry.com

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Golf Lessons at the Hideout Golf Club

  1. Golf is a hard sport to master, but it is so much fun. I have been playing for 20 years and I am still learning every time I go out. This looks like a beautiful course

Leave a Reply

