3 Step Hideaway Bed & Breakfast- La Sal, Utah

3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, Utah

3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, Utah

A few weeks ago was the grand opening of San Juan County’s newest lodging property- 3 Step Hideaway.  The owners, Scott & Julie Stevenson, hosted an Open House and invited the public to come out and take a look at their unique new Bed & Breakfast located on Lisbon Valley Road near La Sal.

It wasn’t nearly as hard as usual to convince my husband to go to the open house with me.  I’m guessing this was because of the free lunch that was advertised in the newspaper and the fact that some of our friends know the owners and were panning on going too.  As everything is for us these days, our day was planned around our son’s nap time, so we decided to head out with hopes of arriving not too long after the Open House was scheduled to begin.  I contacted the owners by e-mail and they gave me detailed directions that covered all three directions that visitors might be traveling from when driving to their place; Moab, Dove Creek, or Monticello.

The 3 Step Hideaway is located about 30 miles northeast of Monticello.  I’d only been out in that area twice before, but had never stopped anywhere along the road, so I was only vaguely familiar with the area.  I was thinking that it was going to be quite a drive out there, but I timed our drive and I think it only took us about 35 minutes from Monticello- not bad!

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Friendly Greeter at 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

When we arrived we could tell that there was already quite the party going on!  There were probably 5-7 motorcycles lined up in front of the Cantina, and a whole line of cars beyond that.  We parked and as we walked up to the Cantina, we received a friendly greeting from the resident dog.  My son LOVES dogs… from a distance.  We have 2 cats, so he’s used to them, but I think he’s still trying to decide how he feels about dogs.  He loves to watch them, but when they get up close and there’s the possibility of getting licked, I think he’s not so sure anymore!

3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Cantina at the 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

3Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Cantina at the 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

We entered the Cantina- the indoor common area with a sitting area around the wood stove, several tall tables, and a bar, and were greeted again- this time by one of the owners, Scott who told us a little about the place and told us to help ourselves to lunch and to feel free to take a look around.   It was our first warm day here and it seemed really hot outside, but it was nice and cool in the Cantina so we hung out in there for a few minutes before heading out to look around.

Open House Cook-out- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Open House Cook-out- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Live Music! 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Live Music! 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Stepping out the back door of the Cantina, puts you into the center of the property.  A firepit, an outdoor bar area, and picnic tables are in the center, circled by the cabins and two teepees.  When we arrived there were quite a few people already sitting at the tables eating lunch and milling around checking out the cabins and teepees.  We started with lunch and got more than our fill, before beginning our tour of the cabins.

Big Bear Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Family Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

View from the Porch of the Big Bear Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

View from the Porch of the Family Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Kitchen of the Big Bear Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Kitchen of the Family Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

The first cabin we looked at was the Family Cabin– the largest cabin available to stay in.  It was beautiful- it has a huge wrap-around porch for taking in the views to the east.  I could imagine myself sitting on the porch with my coffee watching the sunrise!  As much as I loved the porch, I think the kitchen may have actually been my favorite thing about the Family Cabin.  Not that I ever want to be doing any kind of major cooking while on vacation, but it really was a beautiful kitchen!

General Store- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Trading Post- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Trading Post- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Trading Post- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Our next stop was the Trading Post which had an assortment of drinks and snacks available to purchase.

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Wooden Walkway- 3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Homestead Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Homestead Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Homestead Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Homestead Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

Homestead Cabin- 3 Step Hideaway- La Sal, UT

We continued on to the Homestead Cabin– a cabin that is one of the original structures on the property that has been refurbished.  Again, it was a beautiful cabin that I could definitely see myself staying in!  I loved how parts of the original structure were left exposed to give you a feel for the homestead that was first established on the site.

I guess I should mention here that I didn’t take as many pictures of the insides of the cabins as I normally would have because there were actually guests staying in several of them.  Since they were having the Open House, I’m guessing they must have told everyone who was staying there that people would be touring the cabins, but since there were people there, all of their belongings were there too, so I didn’t take too many pictures.  I had already looked at their website, which has great pictures, so I figured I could just provide links to each of the cabins so that you could take a look at the pictures on there.

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Rustic Cabins- 3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Rustic Cabins- 3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Rustic Cabins- 3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

The next cabins we looked at were the three Rustic Cabins.  To quote their website, these cabins are ‘designed to accommodate the more adventurous spirit‘.  The Rustic Cabins do not have electricity or running water, but they have a wood stove, sink, and composting toilet.  ‘His’ and ‘Hers’ bathrooms with showers are located in the nearby Bath House.

I think these might have been my favorite cabins.  While the larger ones were absolutely beautiful, the Rustic Cabins had a really authentic feel to them.  With no electricity, it kind of gives you the feel of roughing it, but you still have a wood stove for heat, a toilet in your cabin, and the Bath House nearby!

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Tepee at the 3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

Last but not least, for the even more adventurous spirit, there are two tepees available to stay in!  I loved camping when I was a kid (actually, I liked sleeping in a tent in our yard, but hated actually going camping since it usually involved hiking, which I really hated!) so I think I would have loved to have spent the night in a teepee!  The two tepees at 3 Step Hideaway are each equipped with 4 cots and a floor covering, and are also located near the Bath House.  (*Please be sure to look at the interior pictures of the tepees on the 3 Step Hideaway website!  My pictures didn’t do them justice, but they have great pictures on their website!)

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

3 Step Hideaway, La Sal, UT

One of the first things I noticed when we arrived at the 3 Step Hideaway was how many motorcycles were there.  I talked with a couple of the riders who were staying there and they told me that the Trans America Trail runs right past the entrance to the 3 Step Hideaway.  You would think that since I work in the County Visitor Services office, I would know about this trail, but this was the first I’d ever heard of it.  Turns out that the Trans American Trail is a 5,000 mile, mostly off-pavement, dual-sport motorcycle ride from Southeastern Tennessee to the Pacific Coast in Oregon that comes right through our area.  Once I’d heard about this trail, it made perfect sense that there were so many motorcyclists staying there!

One of the riders I met was a man from New York who said that he and his wife ride a part of the trail for a week or two each year, then just leave their motorcycles in storage wherever they end up.  When they have vacation time again, they just come back to that spot, get their motorcycles, and pick up the trail again from there.  Sounds like a great way to do a cross-country trip, especially if you’ve got limited time.  That way you can just pick up from wherever you left off and you don’t have to spend half your time driving back home!

We really enjoyed our visit out to the 3 Step Hideaway, it’s a unique place that I think a lot of people will really enjoy, especially those who are interested in the old west.  You definitely get that old west feel while you’re there, but with all the modern conveniences.  Before we left, we were already planning our next visit- to try their ‘Cowboy-style’ supper that they cook outdoors every night!  I plan to blog about it when we go, so be sure to check back!

For more information or to request travel brochures, please call Utah’s Canyon Country at: 800-574-4386

Or e-mail us at: info@utahscanyoncountry.com

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 3 Step Hideaway Bed & Breakfast- La Sal, Utah

  1. Sarah says:

    Wow! What beautiful cabins! I would love to spend a couple nights in the rustic cabins (minus the composting toilets!).

  2. Pingback: A Grand Adventure – 26 Days Rafting through the Grand Canyon

  3. Fletch says:

    A unique and truly wonderful place. Scott and Julie are catering to motorcyclists and do a fantastic job of it with things like their well stocked shop and incredible knowledge of the local riding areas. However their amenities and hospitality make them a worthy stop for any type of traveler who appreciates a slow pace and just enough of most everything a person traveling might need.

    All that said, here’s what they did for me personally: I arrived with my buddy Chris and enjoyed a very nice evening with Scott and Julie as well as 2 other moto travelers. Te next am we all said good bye and we headed South to begin the UTBDR (Utah Back Country Discovery Route). Well into our first day I had a crash that required me to be airlifted to a hospital in New Mexico.

    Knowing no one else in the area, Chris called Scott for assistance. In the end, Scott and Julie drove to pick up Chris and both motorcycles and drove them all up to Grand Junction, Colorado where we’d parked our truck before returning home – around 600 total miles! They asked for nothing in return and did it because they are simply those kind of people.

    Especially since their accommodations were top notch, it seems to me 3 Step Hideaway is a place people should take the time to visit. I really doubt anyone would be disappointed. I cannot thank Scott and Julie enough.

Leave a Reply

