Where I’ve Been…

Fall in the Abajos

Fall in the Abajos

Okay, I know it’s been a LOOOONG time since I’ve posted, but I have an excuse!  I think I mentioned in my last post that I was pregnant- well, I had my baby (a boy!) on August 28th and was out on maternity leave until about 5 weeks ago.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to turn this into a baby blog- I just thought I’d post some pictures from the past few months to prove that I really do have an excuse for not blogging in so long and to show where we’ve taken our son so far!

I LOVE the fall in southeast Utah, and this year I was so caught up with baby stuff and trying to sleep whenever I could, that I almost missed it!  One of my living room windows faces the Abajos, and I looked out one day and saw the fall colors up there and realized that I was going to miss it if we didn’t get up there soon!  Our little guy was not a very happy camper while we were up there… he slept about half the time, and cried the other half!  Hopefully this isn’t a sign that he’s not going to like hiking and the outdoors… that would be bad!  Although I admit- I HATED hiking when I was a little kid- it wasn’t until college that I started to enjoy it.  Hopefully my son won’t follow suit…. 🙂

Fall in the Abajos

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

NOT a Happy Camper

The next place we took our little guy was to Canyonlands when he was about 5 weeks old.  My husband’s mom was visiting us and the weather was so nice, we really wanted to take her out to see some of the area.  We decided to take her to to Canyonlands and do a couple of the shorter trails- Cave Spring and Pothole Point.

Our little guy’s First trip to Canyonlands – Pothole Point

When our little guy was about 7 weeks old, my dad came to visit (we’ve had a LOT of visitors since he was born… I think the longest we’ve gone without company is about 3 weeks!) and we took him down to Indian Creek to look at some petroglyphs.  Since Indian Creek is so much lower in elevation that the Abajo Mountains, we got to see fall colors again!

Fall in Indian Creek

When our little guy was about 3 months old, my little sister and her fiance came to visit and we took them, and our son , all over the place.  Here are a few pictures from their visit.

My sister checking out some petroglyphs in Indian Creek

My sister’s fiance looking at petroglyphs in Indian Creek

Climbing one of the ladders on the Cave Spring trail in Canyonlands

Cave Spring Trail – Canyonlands National Park

We also took them to Jailhouse Rock- they climbed it to look in, but I waited at the bottom with our little guy.

My sister and her fiance on Jailhouse Rock

Last weekend we finally dug out our hiking carrier- now that our son ‘has a neck’ as my husband says, we wanted to see if he was able to sit in it yet, and he can!  We were so excited, we decided to take him for a walk around the neighborhood to see how he liked it before trying to take him out hiking, and he really seemed to like being up so high and being able to look around.  Now we’re really excited for the weather to warm up a little bit so we can take him out on some short hikes!  It’s been sooooo long since I’ve hiked, I can’t wait to get back out there!

Orion’s first ride in the hiking carrier!

Thanks for bearing with me through my ‘baby post’- I promise this isn’t going to turn into a baby blog, I just wanted to share where we’ve taken our little guy so far! 🙂

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where I’ve Been…

  1. Sarah says:

    Love the new entry! And not just because I feel semi-famous 😉

  2. I love it! So good to see you and the little guy here. Thanks Allison for the fun post!
    Jennifer

  3. Raymond Takiue says:

    Love these post with the beautiful colors of Fall. It only persuades me to challenge the hike one day as the little did it. Of course, I will cry a lot also.

  4. Sandy says:

    Thanks for the update! Love this series. You’re son looks very healthy and happy! Congratulations Allison!! You’re husband looks very happy as well. I love the Indian Creek photo. Beautiful pictures. My baby sister would cry more at higher elevation as a baby. That ‘s what my dad told me. Isn’t that strange? Maybe lack of oxygen?LOL Have a great day.

    • Allison says:

      Thanks for your comment Sandy! 🙂 I’ve been following your blog too- your recent food pictures (especially your El Bruno’s pic!) had me drooling! We’ll be sure to stop there next time we’re in that area!

Leave a Reply

