Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

My Favorite Float in the 2012 Pioneer Day Parade

The Annual Pioneer Day Celebration was held the weekend before last in Monticello and as always, there was a full schedule of events planned during Pioneer Day weekend; a Quilt Show that ran Fri & Sat, a Softball Tournament, Talent Contest, and Concert on Friday night, and a Family 5K, Lions Club Breakfast, Parade, Mud Bog Races, Tractor Pull, Games & Food Booths at the park, and Fireworks on Saturday.

Quilt Exhibit at the Monticello Library

Quilt Exhibit at the Monticello Library

Quilt Exhibit at the Monticello Library

Quilt Exhibit at the Monticello Library

My first stop was the Quilt Exhibit on Friday afternoon.  This is just a small sample of the quilts that were on display at the Quilt-n-Time Quilt Exhibit- there were so many beautiful quilts- there are definitely some talented people around here!

Monticello Pioneer Day Talent Show 2012

2012 Monticello Pioneer Day Talent Show Winner!

And speaking of talented people around here, on Friday evening my husband and I went to the talent show at the high school football field.  We had been to it once before- I think it was the first year we lived here, but hadn’t gone last year.  I guess I was a little preoccupied watching the performances, because I forgot to take pictures of most of them!  The girl sitting on the stage in the second picture was the winner- she played, ‘Leaving on a Jet Plane’ on her ukulele and sang- she was awesome!

Rodeo Royalty – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

My favorite part of Pioneer Day is always the parade, so I made sure to go to that!  I had been scoping out a shady spot to watch it from all week, and I had the perfect place picked out, but that morning my husband and I were running late and ended up getting there right as the first float was coming down the street and that area was already filled with chairs at least 3 rows deep.  We ended up in the sun on the opposite side of the street, but at least it wasn’t so crowded and there was an empty bench that my husband parked himself on while I stood and took pictures.

Train Rides for Kids – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

Barber Shop Quartet – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

Thatzza Pizza Float – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

The float in the picture above was from a new pizza place here in town- Thatzza Pizza.  This was the float my husband was the most interested in because… they were giving out free slices of pizza!  I thought he was just kidding when he said it, but sure enough- we saw them hand out a few slices of pizza to people on the other side of the street (the side I had planned to be on!) as the float was passing!

All Star Tumbling – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

The float in the picture above was for a new gymnastics place that just opened in Monticello- All Star Tumbling.  Although I’d love to say that this was the shot I was trying to get, it was actually just a lucky shot- I didn’t even realize I had taken a picture of that kid mid-backflip until I was going through my pictures for this blog entry!  I probably couldn’t have gotten that shot if I’d been trying!

Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

This year I came prepared for the firetruck- I brought my umbrella!  I remember how it drenched everyone last year so as soon as I saw it coming I whipped out my umbrella, but I guess we lucked out- it sprayed right before it got to us, and then again after it was down the street a ways, but not when it was directly in front of us.

Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

I guess I should have mentioned that the theme for the parade this year was, ‘I Ride for the Brand’… otherwise it probably doesn’t make much sense why the missionaries are riding a bike and holding an LDS branding iron!

Bluff Fort – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

Young’s Machine – Monticello Pioneer Day Parade 2012

As always, a long line of tractors brought up the end of the parade with Monticello’s Emerson- Brantingham Big 4 Tractor bringing up the rear.

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

The Big 4 Tractor – Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

The Big 4 Tractor – Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

I know I went over this in my Pioneer Day post last year, but just in case you missed it, Monticello’s Big 4 tractor is one of the few still in existence today.  It was built and brought to Monticello in 1912, and has remained in this area for the past 100 years!  If you’d like to read more about the Big 4, please CLICK HERE.

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

After the parade was over, my husband and I made our way to the park to check out the booths and find some food.  It seemed like there were a lot more food booths this year, there was everything from BBQ sandwiches and corn on the cob, to Navajo tacos and kettle corn.  We decided to get lunch at the Quesadilla Mobilla– a gourmet quesadilla food truck from Moab which was AWESOME!  It’s a good thing they’re from Moab and not here, otherwise I could could see myself developing a serious addiction to their quesadillas!

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

I really love the Veterans Memorial Park, which is where the booths and games are always located on Pioneer Day, it’s such a big & shady park- it’s the perfect location!

After we were finished eating we decided to check out some of the activities that were going on throughout the day.  There were lots of activities for kids: train rides, jousting, a greased pole, and many others, but our first stop was at the Dunk Tank- a few people we knew were going to be in the tank, so of course we wanted to see them get dunked!

Train Rides – Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

Dunk Tank – Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

I didn’t make it to the tractor pull this year- I’m pregnant right now and the 4+ hours I’d already spent outside at the parade and in the park just about did me in!  I spent the rest of the afternoon at home recovering and was happy to realize once the fireworks started that we could see them from the front porch of our new place!

I always enjoy the Pioneer Day Celebration weekend in Monticello, and this year did not disappoint!  Who doesn’t love a good-old-fashioned, small town parade along with a day of food and fun!?

Distance from Monticello to lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

For more information or to request travel brochures, please call Utah’s Canyon Country at: 800-574-4386

Or e-mail us at: info@utahscanyoncountry.com

This entry was posted in Events, Monticello, Things to do for FREE!, Travel, Utah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monticello Pioneer Day Celebration 2012

  1. Pingback: Monticello Ghost Tour! | Utah's Canyon Country Blog

Leave a Reply

