Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to do a blog entry on the Hideout Golf Club, but now that I think about it, it’s definitely LONG overdue!  I’m not a golfer, so until recently my only visits to the Hideout were for some night-time snowshoeing about a year ago, and just a quick stop in the pro shop when we were filming for our San Juan County/Utah’s Canyon Country promotional video last fall.  But in the past month or so, my husband and I have started walking on the golf course in the evening, and we’ve really been blown away by how nice it is!

Evening Walk at the Hideout Golf Course

Aside from the obvious reason that the golf course is a beautiful place to walk, we actually had ulterior motives…  Last summer the City of Monticello started a program called, ‘Finders Keepers’.  Throughout the course of the summer (from Memorial Day to Labor Day) they hide about 500 pieces of Cedar Mesa Pottery out on the golf course, and if you find one, it’s yours to keep!  I kept meaning to get out there and look for pottery last year, but it just never happened.  So this year when I heard that they were going to be doing it again, I knew I had to get out there at least once and try my luck at finding some pottery!

At this point my husband and I have been out there about 5-6 times (only seriously looking twice) and still haven’t found anything.  Initially I thought they would be much easier to find, but then someone who works in the pro-shop told me that there are about 6 miles of cart paths at the Hideout!  Hmmm… finding the pottery might not be as easy as I though!

Manning the Booth at the Portland Golf Show

Our office attends a lot of travel and sportsman’s shows each winter, and for the past two years we’ve also had a booth at the Portland Golf Show in Portland, OR.  I’ve attended both years,  and it’s a GREAT show- definitely one of my favorites.  It’s always nice to go back to a show that you did the previous year and have people come up to your booth and tell you that after talking with you the last year, they came and visited your area.  This happened several times the second year I attended that show, which I thought was great!

While working the booth at the show, one thing I noticed that I ran into over and over were people who, when it came to golfing in Utah, only thought of St. George.  One thing that the Hideout definitely has over St. George is the high elevation and cooler temperatures in the summer.  The Hideout sits at just over 7,000 feet which makes it a cool escape from the summer heat that you definitely won’t find in St. George in the summer!

Just recently Golfweek Magazine named the Hideout #17 on their 2012 list of the 50 Best Municipal Golf Courses in the US.  That’s a pretty big honor for a golf course in a town of just about 2,000 people!  Another list that I just learned that the Hideout made, was Golfweek’s 2012 Best Golf Courses State-by-State.  The Hideout was named the #5 golf course in Utah!

Like I said, I’m not a golfer so I don’t know what golfers look for when determining what makes a good golf course, so here are a few pictures so you can see for yourselves…

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Pro Shop at the Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

Pro Shop at the Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

When I was down there this morning taking pictures for this blog entry, I stopped by the pro shop for a few interior pictures and asked about the Finders Keepers program.  (If I’m going to be out there looking for it, I wanted to make sure that there REALLY is pottery hidden on the course!)  The woman working in the pro shop assured me that there IS in fact pottery hidden out on the course right now, so it looks like I’m going to have to amp up my searching in the next couple months if I really want to find one!

There are quite a few tournaments held at the Hideout each year.  Click the LINK to visit the Events page on the Hideout’s website.

Distance from the Hideout Golf Club to lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

For more information or to request travel brochures, please call Utah’s Canyon Country at: 800-574-4386

Or e-mail us at: info@utahscanyoncountry.com

This entry was posted in Monticello, Things to do for FREE!, Travel, Utah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hideout Golf Club – Monticello, UT

  1. Reggie Cartaya says:

    I always join golf clubs because i always want to meet fellow golfers with the same interest as mine. It is really great to chat with fellow golfers. “.*.;

    Hope This Helps!
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

  2. Dina Abatti says:

    i really love playing golf because it is really a nice game.;

Leave a Reply

