Utah’s Canyon Country Holiday Giveaway Part II

Well, the holiday season is in full swing around here- we had our Ugly Christmas Sweater Day & Secret Santa gift exchange here at the county building yesterday (I made the person I had do a scavenger hunt around the building to find their gift!) and I’ve been baking non-stop for the last several days… fudge, burnt sugar almonds, several different types of cookies… whew!

I thought I’d share an ‘Ugly Christmas Sweater’ picture to get everyone in the holiday giveaway mood…

A Few of the Ugly Christmas Sweaters Worn Today….

The picture above is just a sample of the many Ugly Christmas Sweaters that made an appearance today.  (I thought I’d better protect our identities since we’re all fashion ‘don’ts’!)  But I’ll tell you… that’s me on the left- like my earrings?  I borrowed them off the tree in the background!

Okay, back to the REAL reason you’re here… our last GIVEAWAY of the year!

I’ve decided to make this last giveaway about something that’s VERY near and dear to my heart… FOOD! 🙂  I mean, who doesn’t LOVE all the seasonal food that comes with the holidays?!

To enter…  Leave a comment telling us your favorite holiday food tradition.  Have you got gingerbread cookie baking down to a science? Do you make your own eggnog from scratch?  Do you actually like fruitcake? 😉

This giveaway is for a San Juan County- Utah’s Canyon Country Travel Cup and T-shirt with an image of Monument Valley on the back.  (Available sizes are: S, M, L, & 2XL)

This contest will run until 12:00pm (noon) MST December 28st, 2011 and the winner will be selected at random.  The winner’s name will be announced both on this blog, and on our facebook page, so be sure to watch for your name!  *In our first contest we never heard back from one of our winners- we can’t send you your prize if we can’t contact you!

Since I can’t take part in the giveaway, I’ll get things started and share my favorite holiday foods here…

Melty Kiss

This is one of my all-time favorite chocolates- Melty Kiss from Japan- I got hooked on them when I was living in Japan and I’ve been borderline obsessed with them ever since!  (The writing in the blue area says that they’re only available in the winter- so they REALLY are a seasonal treat!)

Another is a new favorite of mine, but I think it’s a keeper…

Eggnog and coke… it might sound a little strange, but try it- it’s SO GOOD!

This entry was posted in Giveaways, Travel, Utah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Utah’s Canyon Country Holiday Giveaway Part II

  1. Jared Hillhouse says:

    My favorite food is not necessarily a specific food, but more a tradition per se. Growing up my dad would always get each one of the kids their own 2 Liter bottle of sprite or root beer (usually Shasta) and put it under the tree. All day long during Christmas it was ours to drink as we saw fit, there were no rules or amounts we were allowed to have, once it was gone we were done. Aside from this we always just snacked all day long on chips and crackers and dips as friends and family came and went. I really liked that atmosphere of Christmas growing up.

    • Allison says:

      Thanks for getting things started Jared! I would have LOVED that tradition when I was a kid! (My sisters and I rarely got a whole can of pop to ourselves- we always had to split it between the 3 of us!) Have you continued this tradition with your own children?

      • Jared Hillhouse says:

        I will. My kids aren’t quite old enough to really need that much drink. I am thinking of this year doing some in controlled amounts. My oldest is 10 and my youngest is 4 so I may get a 1 liter for the 10 year old and a 12 oz. bottle for the 4 year old and somewhere in between for the 7 year old.

  2. Dallas Peterson says:

    My mom used to make lefsa every year at Christmas, and she taught my son how to make it so now he carries on the tradition!

  3. Sandy says:

    Oh my goodness – I’ve never tried coke with eggnog. Holy cow that sounds unhealthy and ecstasy at the same time. I will have to try for sure. =) My step mom is Filipino and so at our house we have yummy pancit and eggrolls with american food… mashed potatoes and corn is my fav. And since my bio mom is from S. France, I add in the dessert wine.

    P.S. I love the earings!LOL

    • Allison says:

      Filipino, French, American… I love that- it’s always fun to have a mix of traditions from different cultures!
      *BTW- I tried to make the coke & eggnog a little healthier by using the ‘light’ version, but with all that sugar I don’t think it probably did much good! I just try not to think about how bad it is while I’m drinking it! 🙂

      • Jared Hillhouse says:

        Tis the season for indulging anyway. Concentrate on the flavor and worry about taking it off after the new year!!! I’m a big fan of Coke, but not Eggnog or I would give it a try.

    • Allison says:

      Congratulations Sandy, you’re our winner! Please e-mail us at info@utahscanyoncountry to claim your prize. Be sure to include your full name and mailing address, along with your preference of T-shirt size (S, M, L, or 2XL)

  4. Alene N. says:

    My favorite holiday food tradition is to fix brunch for my family. We have a breakfast casserole, biscuits and gravy etc.

  5. Glen Hampton says:

    On a holiday trip to Puerto Rico we had a chance to try a Coguito, a wonderful eggnog-like alcoholic beverage. It is made with egg yolks, rum, coconut milk, coconut cream, sweet condensed milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.

  6. Allison says:

    And our winner is…. Sandy! Congratulations Sandy, please e-mail us at info@utahscanyoncountry.com to claim your prize. Please include your full name and mailing address, along with your preference of T-shirt size (S, M, L, or 2XL)
    Thanks to everyone who entered! We’ll be doing more giveaways in the next few months, so keep checking back so you don’t miss out!

Leave a Reply

