Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum ‘Back Room Perishables’ Program

Baskets

Last Thursday evening the Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum hosted a special evening program with Dr. Laurie Webster titled, ‘Back Room Perishables’.  When I had first seen the museum’s spring event calendar, there were several things that caught my eye about this local event, the first was that even though I’ve lived in Monticello for two years now, I had never been to the museum.  It’s kind of embarrassing to admit that because while I was working part time at the Welcome Center in Monticello I was always telling visitors that they HAD to go to the museum when I hadn’t even been there myself!

The second thing that caught my eye was that the title of the program (Back Room Perishables) sounded like they were going to be showing us things that aren’t usually out on display.  The thought of having the opportunity to get an up-close look at some of the things that most visitors to the museum don’t get to see sounded very exciting to me!

I was able to convince my husband to come along by promising to buy him dinner at Blanding’s newest restaurant, Fattboyz Grillin’, before the program.  I’ll be posting a blog entry on it soon, so please watch for it!

We arrived at the Edge of the Cedars right before the program started and were surprised at how many people were already there.  Like I said before, this was the first time I’d been to the museum and the first time attending one of their evening programs, so I really don’t know if that was a normal or not, but I was definitely impressed with the turnout.

Dr. Laurie Webster began the program with a power point presentation giving us some of the history of each item that would be brought out for us to look at; where it was found, how old it is, etc.  When she was finished several carts were brought out to the middle of the room and she went over each item again letting everyone get a close up look and ask questions.

A Few of the Perishable Items

Standing Room Only!

Examining the Beaver Tail Rattle

Dr. Webster Showing a Basket

Dr. Webster Showing Another Basket

Partially Finished Sandal

It was really cool to get to see everything up close without being separated by a layer of glass.  I was especially impressed with the woven patterns on the bottom of one of the pairs of sandals, the beaver tail rattle, and the pine needle brush.  If you looked closely at the pine needle brush you could see that there were still hairs in it!

Close-up of the Pattern on the Bottom of the Sandals

Beaver Tail Rattle

Pine Needle Brush

Close-up of the Pine Needle Brush

After Dr. Webster finished going through everything, she said that we could go upstairs to the museum to look at some additional items.  When we got upstairs I was completely blown away by the amount of pottery that was there!  I always knew that the Edge of the Cedars had a large collection of pottery and artifacts, but I still wasn’t prepared for the amount that was there on display.  And to think that there’s so much more that’s NOT out on display just blows me away!

Visible Storage Exhibit

I was really glad that I was finally getting the chance to see some of it, but I really wish I’d had more time to look, I think I could have easily spent a few hours there and still not seen everything!  Aside from the museum, Edge of the Cedars is also an Ancestral Puebloan site and a repository- there’s a lot to see and I hope to go back soon so that I can post some more blog entries about it!

The Edge of the Cedars has quite a few special programs coming up in the next few months.  The next will be, ‘The Cliff Dwellings Speak’ this Thursday, April 14th @ 6:30pm.  Also, on Saturday, May 7th they will be holding the annual Four Corners Indian Art Market from 9:30am-6pm.  There will be over 50 artists along with dance, music, food, and an art competition.  There will be traditional dancers from Zuni Pueblo, Hopi, White Mesa, Apache Crown dancers, and Navajo dancers from Blanding!  Mark your calendars, you don’t want to miss this one!

Distance from Blanding to lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

This entry was posted in Blanding, Museums, State Parks, Things to do for FREE!, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum ‘Back Room Perishables’ Program

  1. Pingback: Back Room Tour at Edge of the Cedars State Park Museum | Utah's Canyon Country Blog

Leave a Reply

