Wolfman Petroglyph Panel – Butler Wash

Petroglyphs at the Wolfman Panel

The same day that my husband and I went to the Four Corners Indian Art Market in Blanding back in May, we also took a drive down to Bluff and went to the Wolfman Petroglyph Panel just a few miles west of town.

The Wolfman Panel is located just one mile up the Butler Wash Rd (Co Rd 262) and is the first of many sites along the road.  Double Stack Ruin, Procession Panel, Fishmouth Cave, and several other sites are also located farther down the road, so it’s possible to visit several sites in the same day.  Of all the sites, the Wolfman Panel has the shortest hike and is by far the easiest to access.  If you have time for nothing else, at least stop at the Wolfman Panel- it’s only about a 1/2 mile hike round-trip and it’s WELL worth it!

Originally, I thought the Wolfman Panel was named for the first figure you come to when hiking down to the site- a human figure with large hands and feet that looks like it has long nails or claws.

Wolfman Figure?

But some of the reading I’ve done online suggests that it’s named for what appears to be a couple of wolf paw prints farther down the panel.  In the picture below, if you look just above my husband’s right shoulder and below the three geometric figures on the right hand side of the panel, you can just barely make out what looks like a paw print.  The other paw print is located about 5 feet to the left, in the lower left hand side of the panel. (*You can see a close-up of this one in the first picture in this post)

My Husband at the Wolfman Panel

I’m really not sure which figure this panel is named after, but I prefer to think it’s for the human figure with the claws- it makes the the idea of why a figure like that would have been carved there much more interesting!

There are several other unique figures in this panel that I hadn’t seen before.  I’m not NEARLY as knowledgeable about rock art as some of my friends around here are, so I won’t even pretend to know what period these figures are from!  I had to ‘google’  the panel, and from everything I read, they appear to be Basketmaker Anasazi.

The styles I often hear about in this area are Archaic, Anasazi, and Fremont, but I don’t know how to identify them myself.  I guess that’s something I need to study up on if I’m going to be posting about rock art, right?!  I’ve just never felt like I needed to know the exact time period that rock art and ruins are from to be able to enjoy them!  I just appreciate the fact that something that was built/made/carved/etched thousands of years ago and is still here for us to see, is pretty amazing!

Owl Figure? Wolfman Panel in Butler Wash

Geometric Figures at the Wolfman Panel

Wolfman Panel in Butler Wash

Wolfman Panel in Butler Wash

Directions:

From Bluff: Travel west on hwy 191 (this road becomes hwy 163 about 4 miles west of Bluff) for about 5 miles and turn right (north) onto Co Rd 262 (Butler Wash Rd)  After passing through a gate near the highway, drive 1 mile and then turn left (west) onto a single track road.  You can park here or continue on .2 miles to a parking area at the rim of the canyon.

From the parking area head in SW direction across the slickrock to the rim of the canyon.  From there, follow the carins toward the rock ledge and look for a boulder near the edge of the canyon rim- you will enter the canyon by passing between the boulder and the wall of the canyon.  The hike is about 1/2 mile round-trip.

Distance From the Wolfman Petroglyph Panel to Lodging in San Juan County, Utah:

This entry was posted in Bluff, Hiking, Rock Art, Things to do for FREE!, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

